Composer, explorer of sound

Lucie Prod’homme

Lucie Prod’homme

As a composer, adventurer and listening pioneer, Lucie Prod’homme explores sound from the inside out, plays with its energy and probes each and every tiny flutter of sonic matter, impelling us to listen.

Whether approaching stillness or extreme agitation, silence or screams, peacefulness or effervescent turmoil, her primary concern is always the same : to induce an attitude of intense awareness in her listeners, by composing not only what they will hear but also the way in which they will listen - prompting them to do so actively and intently. 


“In this to-and-fro from sound to silence she invites the auditor to sit down and listen to infinitesimal things of immense importance, underlining that “Composition is a political act. I want to open people’s ears to the world and encourage them to listen in a different way.”  (Article by Michèle Tosi in Compositrices, l’égalité en acte, CDMC, ed. MF)

This ecological approach leads her to banish all pollution, rubbish and unnecessary chatter from her music, in search of the essential. 



Numerous projects in collaboration with other artists (musicians, visual artists, film-makers, sculptors, dancers, writers…) embark her upon new adventures in sound, enthusing and stimulating her hugely inquisitive ears.

Her catalogue consists of acousmatic, mixed and instrumental works, and includes concert pieces, radio pieces, sheet music for beginners, non-concert works (for dance, video, in situ creations)… 


She has received commissions from Radio France (Festival Présence), the INA-GRM, Musiques Démesurées, Atelier de Musique d’Aujourd’hui (J. Raynaut), Ubris Studio, the Earagail arts festival (Irlande), the MIM, the ACLM, Teatropera, the EMMDAL Vitrolles, Musiques Inventives d’Annecy (State Commissions), …

Her music is also played on France Musique (le cri du Patchwork) and in such diverse places as the Futura Festival, Klang, the Sounds French Festival (Electronic Music Fondation - New-York), Fondation Vasarely, the GMEM, Cité de la Musique de Marseille, Exhibitronic, Octandre, le GMVL…

Lucie Prod’homme is the electroacoustic and instrumental composition teacher at the Conservatoire in Perpignan, France, where she heads the department of composition, creation and improvisation.

She is regularly invited to lead courses and conferences on electroacoustic music, contemporary music and the use of free improvisation as an educational tool.

She is the singing actress ‘cant’actrice’ in the Lulu Berlue duo, outrageous off-the-wall musical comedy (contemporary vocal and improvised music) and the current chairperson of AECME, the national organisation of electroacoustic composition teachers. 


Born in Paris in 1964, she plans to stick around until the year 2071 in order to surpass her paternal grandmother’s longevity record ! 

sitemap

Compositrice, aventurière de l’écoute

Lucie Prod’homme

Lucie Prod’homme

Compositrice, aventurière de l’écoute, Lucie Prod’homme explore le son de l’intérieur, joue de son énergie, sonde les minuscules palpitations de la matière sonnante et nous incite à écouter.

Qu’elle étudie, l’immobilité ou l’agitation extrême, le silence ou le bruissement, le paisible ou l’effervescence tumultueuse, sa préoccupation reste la même; induire une attitude perceptive intense en composant aussi l’écoute de l’auditeur, l’exhortant à tendre une oreille attentive et engagée.

« Dans cet aller-retour du son au silence, elle invite l’auditeur à s’asseoir et à écouter des choses aussi infimes qu’importantes. La composition est un acte politique, souligne-t-elle, j’espère ouvrir des oreilles au monde et les inciter à entendre autrement… »

[Article de Michèle Tosi in Compositrices, l’égalité en acte, CDMC, ed. MF].

Cette attitude écologique la conduit à bannir tout bavardage inutile et polluant, à la recherche de l’essentiel.




La collaboration et l’échange avec d’autres artistes (musiciens, plasticiens, vidéastes, sculpteurs, danseurs, écrivains…), l’entrainent fréquemment vers de nouvelles aventures sonores, qui agitent et stimulent ses grandes oreilles curieuses.

Ainsi son catalogue, constitué d’œuvres acousmatiques, mixtes et instrumentales, comporte à la fois des compositions à destination du concert, des pièces radiophoniques, des musiques d’applications (danse, installation, vidéo) , des partitions à destination des jeunes interprètes…


Parmi ses commanditaires, on trouve Radio France (Festival Présence), l’INA-GRM, Musiques Démesurées,  l’Atelier de Musique d’Aujourd’hui de J. Raynaut, Ubris Studio, le Earagail arts festival (Irlande), le MIM, l’ACLM, Teatropera, l’EMMDAL de Vitrolles, Les Musiques Inventives d’Annecy (commande d’État)…  

Sa musique est également jouée sur France Musique (« Le cri du Patchwork » ) et dans divers lieux comme, le Festival Futura, le festival Klang, le Sounds French Festival (Electronic Music Fondation - New-York), la Fondation Vasarely, le GMEM, La Cité de la Musique de Marseille, le Festival Exhibitronic, les concerts d’Octandre, le GMVL, etc.

Lucie Prod’homme est professeure de composition électroacoustique et instrumentale au Conservatoire à Rayonnement Régional Perpignan-Méditerranée, où elle coordonne le département Composition, création et sonore et improvisation.

Elle anime régulièrement des formations et des conférences autour des musiques électroacoustiques, des musiques d’aujourd’hui et de l’improvisation libre comme outil pédagogique.

Elle est la cant’actrice du Lulu Berlue Duo, théâtre musical déjanté (musique improvisée et musique vocale contemporaine), et l’actuelle présidente de l’AECME (Association des Enseignants de la Composition en Musique Electroacoustique).


Née à Paris en 1964, elle prévoit de résister jusqu’en 2071 pour battre le record de longévité de sa grand-mère paternelle.

plan du site